The Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN) comprises of Indonesia, Singapore, Philippines, Malaysia, Brunei, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam. India and ASEAN are observing 25 years of their Dialogue Partnership, 15 years of Summit Level interaction and 5 years of Strategic Partnership throughout 2017 by undertaking a wide range of activities, both in India and in ASEAN Member States. In early November 2017, Prime Minister Narendra Modi was in Phillipines to take part in the 15th India-ASEAN Summit, 12th East Asia Summit. The series of meetings with the leaders of the Southeast Asian region added thrust to India’s Act East Policy. All the meetings were indicative of growing India’s political, economic and strategic engagement with the ASEAN. India’s desire to have a multi-faceted relationship with ASEAN is an outcome of the significant changes in the world’s political and economic scenario since the early 1990s and India’s own march towards economic liberalization.

Like Our Facebook Page
Join Telegram Channel
Share on whatsapp